Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

NocturnalSec
Frequent Visitor

Split rows by month

Hi, I'm new to power BI and I'm wondering if there's a way for me to split one row into two in power query.

I have this table called "house booking records", and two columns called "checkindate" and "checkoutdate".

We have done limitation on the datasource for the users to input order no more than 31 days, but we have some orders like below picture, the checkindate and checkoudate are in different month.

So what I want to achieve is when the table sees a row with different month, then it automatically splits or duplicates this row into two: The first row keeps the original checkindate and updates its checkoutdate to end-of-month of the original checkindate. And the second one keeps the original checkoutdate and updates its checkindate to start-of-month of the original checkoutdate. (Both row has to keep all the other original information like room number etc. Only changes the checkin or checkout dates)

Because I didn't find a way to do this in power query, I have to manually update the datasource for every order like this, it's really a large workload as I have more and more orders coming everyday.

So I'm wondering if there's a way to do this.

I'd appreciate any help, thank you in advance!

NocturnalSec_0-1680844558217.pngthis is the original state

NocturnalSec_1-1680845420538.pngthis is what I want to achieve. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PawarNovil
Frequent Visitor

Hi @NocturnalSec 
I have tried solving your issue and got the expected result on my end.

PawarNovil_0-1680857110957.png

Output:

PawarNovil_1-1680857149893.png

Please copy the below M code and paste it into the new table's Advance editor,  check and follow each and every step closely.