Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Mumiah
Frequent Visitor

Show percentage of total of a count without modifying percentage when filtering by Top N

Hi, I was hoping somebody could help me with this as I'm fairly new to PowerBi and can't seem to figure this one out, I have a set of data of 2 columns, with 475 entries, what I'm trying to do is have a count of how many times a value from column [Names"] shows for values of column [Departments], so I do [count of Names], and that gives me the right numbers, I add the column again and pick to display as percentage and I get almost what I need as the percentage is correct; however,  once I filter to "top N 3" it modifies the percentage to only account the filtered values. I see there are a few similar posts on this but couldn't find one that would try to get the percentage of a "count of" column. Please any help or Ideas on how to go about this would mean the world as I've been 2 days trying to figure this out. Thank you 

Sample of dat source.

Mumiah_0-1676041411435.png

Screenshot of Bi. *goal is to have the lower table show the percent from the upper table, the Total row is not meant to be in screenshot as I've removed it, but leaving it in case it helps understand better

Mumiah_1-1676041489078.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Mumiah ,

I've modified the measure based on your needs.

Top three count percent = var a=COUNTROWS(ALL('Table'))
var c=TOPN(3,ALLSELECTED('Table'[Department]),CALCULATE(COUNTROWS('Table')),DESC,[Department],DESC)
return
CALCULATE(DIVIDE(COUNTROWS('Table'),a),FILTER('Table',[Department] in c))

vtangjiemsft_0-1676444079486.png

Best Regards,

Neeko Tang

If this post  helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution  to help the other members find it more quickly. 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6