Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Same Dimensions, multiple Fact tables, different measures, millions of rows

Hello,

I've been creating/updating/enhansing reports for years, even played a bit with dimensional modeling on very simple cases ( up to 10k rows), but in terms of real dimensional modeling with lots of rows...  I'm a complete rookie. I've checked various forums, tried to do a rapide go over the Theory, but ... I'm a bit hard pressed by time and I hope to get some quality/valuable advices from those who are facing such cases on daily basis

My case :

-  two different fact tables, with the same dimensions, but different number of measures in each, let's say 10 FKs each ( including Date dimension) and respectively 10 and 15 measures

- 10 commun dimensions

- There will be 2 years worth of data, current year and previous year data based on Fiscal period, where

- Fact Table A will have approx 5-6 millions rows/period

- Fact Table B will have approx 7-8 millions rows/period

- With 24 periods at the end of the year and the only option to use *.csv files  as input for Power BI, I'm a bit desparate to fine optimal solution. Needless to say, that data quality is priority number One and performance number Two

- Good news is I have an ETL tool, that can assist me with any data crunching I have to do

Requirement :

Being able to combine data from both fact tables in one visual and compute new measures based on both fact tables.

The way I see it, there are two options :

1) Load the 10 dimensions + 2 fact tables in Power BI and make the Star Schema. What I'm not clear is the correct way to create the schema i.e.

- What I'd do is to connect the two fact tables with all 10 dimensions, but... not sure this is correct.

- something tells me it is not 😞