Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

amotto11
Helper II
Helper II

Ranking

I am new to Power BI and Dax all together and am trying to learn.

I have a table with 3 columns: ID, Company, Amount. I am trying to rank the amount from the company by ID. I believe i need a measure of Total_Amount and Rank, but cannot seem to figure out the RankX requirements and how it works.

I have created a measure of Total_Amount = sum(Table1[Amount])

Here is a sample of the raw data:

ID      Company               Amount

1         CompanyA                 44

1         CompanyB                 45

1         CompanyC                 100

2         CompanyA                 60

2         CompanyB                 20

2         CompanyC                 80

2         CompanyD                 200

3         CompanyA                 1123

3         CompanyB                 1000

3         CompanyD                 2000

3         CompanyA                 2200

I would like the rank function to be based on the company, so rank the companies by ID by Amount. So the output would look something like this.

ID      Company               Amount            Rank

1         CompanyA                 44                    1

1         CompanyB                 45                    2

1         CompanyC                 100                  3

2         CompanyA                 60                    2

2         CompanyB                 20                    1

2         CompanyC                 80                    3

2         CompanyD                 200                  4

3         CompanyA                 1123                2

3         CompanyB                 1000                1

3         CompanyC                 2000                3

3         CompanyD                 2200                4