Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

georgec96
Helper II
Helper II

Power BI dataflow very slow

Hi guys, I am new to Power BI so sorry in advance if this is a silly question.

I have a Power BI dataflow as my data source which is about 4 million rows and 15 columns.

I can connect successfully to the dataflow however this is extremely slow and I'm not sure if this is to be expected or a problem with my settings.

1. Power BI Desktop takes ages to import the data which is approx 1.6 GB and that takes around 10-15 mins to load, also every time I do something in Power Query once I press close and apply it downloads that whole data again.

Capture.PNG

2. Power Query is really slow on simple queries such as filtering, adding, and removing columns ( each query takes around 2-3 mins to process)

Thank you in advance 😁

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
KNP
Super User
Super User

Hi @georgec96

Another option to consider, if you need all that data, is to use direct query for dataflows.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/transform-model/dataflows/dataflows-directquery

I've had to use this recently for a large dataset and it works well. It then gives you the option to build aggregation tables in your model to improve performance but also keep the detailed data when necessary.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/transform-model/aggregations-advanced#:~:text=Aggregations....

Caveat, this will only work with premium or premium per user as you need to be able to turn on the 'Enhanced compute engine settings' for the Dataflow.

KNP_0-1644260638886.png

Hope this helps.

Have I solved your problem?
Please click Accept as Solution so I don't keep coming back to this post, oh yeah, others may find it useful also ;).
chrome-9xf-Zagzel-B

If you found this post helpful, please give Kudos.