Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RolinMartis
Helper II
Helper II

Need help with building a simulator(what is model) in powerBI

Hi Team,

I am new to powerBI. I need to build a simple simulator which will let you input the numbers and then shows the calculations based on the input.

template is below.

I have to show current HC and HC% by band and then let the user input the headcount actual numbers they want to change. Then can increase or decrease HC in specific band.

HC to be = HC+ Input Option

HC% to be = HC to be in a band / total HC to be

BandHCHC%input optionHC to beHC% To be

exec

105%0

5.4%
Band 102010%02010.8%
band 93015%03016.2%
Band 88040%-206032.4%
Band 76030%56535.1%

Please suggest me how i can achieve this and if you have any usefull links please do share.

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @RolinMartis ,

Firstly, your issue that when you input 20 in slicer but it will show 19 is caused by too mant values. You can find this warning by clicking on "i" icon at the top of slicer.

RicoZhou_0-1652340766522.png

The workaround is to add a filter to your data, you can reduce the range like let it show data from -100 to 100. Then slicer will work well.

RicoZhou_3-1652341998556.png

If you want to input values as you want to each Band, I suggest you to create "What if parameters" as many as Bands you need.

Your origianl table should look like as below.

RicoZhou_1-1652341947021.png

Then create measures to achieve your goal.

input option = 
SWITCH (
    SELECTEDVALUE ( 'Table'[Band] ),
    "exec", exec[exec Value],
    "Band 10", 'Band 10'[Band 10 Value],
    "band 9", 'Band 9'[Band 9 Value],
    "Band 7", 'Band 7'[Band 7 Value],
    "Band 8", 'Band 8'[Band 8 Value]
)
HC to be = 
CALCULATE ( SUM ( 'Table'[HC] ) )