Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

ModelFear
Regular Visitor

Need help with DAX formula

Dear community, 

I post this question as a fresh question if it is ok. 

Below is my Sales table of various dishes :

Sales.jpg

Below is my table called Recipe, where Subtotal is the cost to make each Dish:

Recipe.jpg

Below is my model. I created a bridge table to avoid many to many relationship of Sales and Recipe tables:

Model.jpg

I am trying to calculate margin for each dish using formula of (Selling price - Subtotal/Selling price). But obviously newbie here cannot DAX very well. 

Thank you in advance for your kind help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
halfglassdarkly
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Note LOOKUPVALUE wouldn't work here either because there are multiple records per [Dish ID] in the Recipe table, so some form of aggregation is required. I've opted to sum 'Recipe'[Cost] but you could also use:

Margin = 

VAR RecipeCost = Calculate(Max('Recipe'[Subtotal]),

'Recipe'[Dish ID]=EARLIER('Sales'[Dish ID]))

RETURN

'Sales'[Selling Price per kg] - RecipeCost

Also note calculations like this as well as the Subtotal field in 'Recipe' would be good candidates for creating measures rather than calculated columns.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
halfglassdarkly
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Note LOOKUPVALUE wouldn't work here either because there are multiple records per [Dish ID] in the Recipe table, so some form of aggregation is required. I've opted to sum 'Recipe'[Cost] but you could also use:

Margin = 

VAR RecipeCost = Calculate(Max('Recipe'[Subtotal]),

RETURN

Also note calculations like this as well as the Subtotal field in 'Recipe' would be good candidates for creating measures rather than calculated columns.