Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Need Help with Data Over Time using Line Graph

Hello There,

I'm new to Power BI and I just want to graph basic sales by period for each account.

I imported an excel table with column A being the accounts, and columns B-N being periods 1-13 and the sales $ for each account by period. 

However I want to use the Periods as both the Value and the X axis, however it is forcing me to use the accounts as the x axis.

Is there an easy way to get around this without reformatting in excel? 

I greatly appreciate the help!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@Anonymous -

No worries. This table is not setup in a way that is helpful. I propose you should:

• 'Edit Queries' to get to the Power Query Editor.
    • You will see exactly the same table but in the Editor
  • Right-Click column [ACCOUNT]
    • Select and Click 'Unpivot Other Columns
    • You should now see 3 columns (e.g. [ACCOUNT], [Attribute], [Value]
  • [Attribute] = your period names
  • [Value] = your sales amounts
  • You will likely need to change Data Types; for your [Value] to Whole Number, Decimal, etc.; You could also change the column names at this point to something more meaningful.

@Anonymous wrote:

table excel.PNG

You'll likely encounter a sorting issue on your periods where {p1, p10, p11, p12, p13, p2, ..., p9}. It would be better if you could sort the column by a numeric value; when you get there we can assist at that point.

Your Visualizations tab should show something like:

2.png

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Did my answers help arrive at a solution? Give it a kudos by clicking the Thumbs Up!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

@Anonymous -

Check what the Sort is on the actual visual. Seems like the visual is set on GSV $ descending.