Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

RJD515
Regular Visitor

Need Help - Measure

Hello,

I am a newbie to Power BI and need some help with a measure i am trying to create.

I am trying to get total cost of orders based on a look-up between 2 tables and i have the below but itis not working.

Value of Orders = CALCULATE ( SUM ( 'rma mm_standard_cost'[MAX_STD_COST_EA] ), FILTER ( 'rma sr_order_line', 'rma sr_order_line'[PART_NUMBER] = RELATED('rma mm_standard_cost'[MATERIAL]) ) )

RMA is the DB

MM Standard Cost is table 1...has Material and MAX_STD_COST_EA as 2 fields

SR Order Line is another table...which has a field called the Part_Number

Thanks in advance

Desikan Narayanan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-sihou-msft
Employee
Employee

@RJD515

You may modify you formula like below: 

Value of Orders =
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( 'rma mm_standard_cost'[MAX_STD_COST_EA] ),
    FILTER (
        ALL ( 'rma mm_standard_cost'[MATERIAL] ),
        CONTAINS (
            VALUES ( 'rma sr_order_line'[PART_NUMBER] ),
            'rma sr_order_line'[PART_NUMBER], 'rma mm_standard_cost'[MATERIAL]
        )
    )
)

Please also refer to this article: 

From SQL to DAX: Joining Tables

Regards,

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-sihou-msft
Employee
Employee

@RJD515

You may modify you formula like below: 

Value of Orders =
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( 'rma mm_standard_cost'[MAX_STD_COST_EA] ),
    FILTER (
        ALL ( 'rma mm_standard_cost'[MATERIAL] ),
        CONTAINS (
            VALUES ( 'rma sr_order_line'[PART_NUMBER] ),
            'rma sr_order_line'[PART_NUMBER], 'rma mm_standard_cost'[MATERIAL]
        )
    )
)

Please also refer to this article: 

From SQL to DAX: Joining Tables

Regards,

parry2k
Super User
Super User

Can you share how your tables are related that will help to answer you question.