Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Measure: adding two card values together

Hi!

I'm looking to create a measure which adds the value of two filtered cards together, I will then use the measure to conditionally format the cards. I'm assuming I need to include the filters within the DAX in order for this to work properly but I am new to PowerBi and am not au fait with the filter!

This is what I want my measure to look like:

Potentially converting = (Total of Estimated value (filtered by Status = won, and filtered by Closed Date = this month)) PLUS (Total of Estimated Value (filtered by Temperature = hot))
I have a date table already set up to with Month and Year formatting. Please can you help me?

5 REPLIES 5
BA_Pete
Super User
Super User

Hi @LauraCawdronDav ,

Just converting your measure into DAX looks like this:

Potentially converting =
VAR calc1 =
CALCULATE(
    SUM(yourTable[Estimated Value]),
    FILTER(
        yourTable,
        yourTable[Status] = "won"
        && MONTH(yourTable[Closed Date]) = MONTH(TODAY())
        && YEAR(yourTable[Closed Date]) = YEAR(TODAY())
    )
)
VAR calc2 = 
CALCULATE(
    SUM(yourTable[Estimated Value]),
    yourTable[Temperature] = "hot"
)
RETURN
calc1 + calc2

Pete

Now accepting Kudos! If my post helped you, why not give it a thumbs-up?

Proud to be a Datanaut!

Hi Pete,

Thank you for your response. I used your solution and it doesn't seem to be adding up properly. So the first filter, Calc 1 (won this month), is adding up to £970 and the second filter, calc 2 (hot opportunities this month) is £980. However, the return comes out as £319k not £195k. I noticed that calc2 didn't specify whether this opportunity was open or not. These 'hot' opportunities are still open so I edited the formula as below. NB: our 'hot' temp is classified as '"1".