Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Make the % of the value in comparison to the Total of that year

Hello! 

I'm pretty new with PowerBi and found realtively easily answers to my different questions. But now I'm stuck.

I have a whole list of different countries summarizing the value of exported goods and services depending of the year.

For example:

Germany / 2013 / 67385 M euros

Bahamas / 2014 / 25 M euros

And so on ...2019-07-10 13_35_57-Etude Pays v2 - Power BI Desktop (May, 2019).png

I would like to create a new column which gives the percentage in comparison to the total of that year

For example; if 2014 had 100 M euros in total of exported goods and services, Bahamas would represent 25%.

But I can't seem to find a formula that can make a division (Value / SUM(Values)) depending on the year. It usually takes all the values, whichever the year is..

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for your help! Even when I did a measure, it didn't want to apply it to the whole dataset, only to the selected values. So I made a workaround.

I created anothe table whick makes a group by (sum) of the values of each year. Afterwards I divide the value by the total number of that year (by using a lookupvalue).

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
mussaenda
Super User
Super User

Hi,

On the values, we can select this one so it can display the GT %

2019_07_10_15_47_41_Logistics_Power_BI_Desktop.png

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey mussaenda! Thanks for your quick answer, but the thing is, it only calculates the % based on the filtered values of the dashboard.

If I select 5 countries, it will show a percentage based on these countries. I want it to be based on all the years, whichever country I select in the dashboard.

% of Grand Total =
DIVIDE (