Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Is it possible to create variables in Power BI similar to summarization results from an Excel Pivot?

Hi All,

I am new to Power BI and I am working on a project where I am supposed to replicate the excel charts to Power BI. These excel charts are designed using summarization measures from different pivot tables. Our goal is to load raw excel file into Power BI and automate as much as possible so the visualizations are updated every time excel is updated. However, I am having hard time on how to recreate these charts built using summarization from excel pivots.

For eg, see below for one of the pivots used to build a chart

BIuser_4_0-1643222885173.png

It has 5 different filters on Ref, Type, Subtype, Role and dept. The data is displayed for Division and Division Name. Creating a new column using CALCULATE & SUM is giving a aggregated count irrespective of division and division name. So, I am stuck on how to create "Total Budget" measure efficiently so I can filter it by division and also use it in a line chart with other measures (like in image below)

Edit:  Another issue I have is that the pivot chart I have in excel is using measures from multiple pivots. For eg, take the image below as an excel chart, it has 3 measures  - Budget, Design Costs, Construction costs. These 3 measures came from 3 different pivots by summarizing different amounts. My goal is to create variables which are summarized results of these pivots. Is there a way to create calculated measures which give similar summarization results like a pivot table in excel?

BIuser_4_0-1643214862344.png

Image: https://www.clearpointstrategy.com/dashboards/budget-vs-actual-dashboard/

Any help is appreciated. Thanks a lot!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,