Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ssmallik

How to connect a Python script to PowerBI slicer?

Hi All,

I am new to PowerBI and I need your help in acheiving the below workflow:

1. Create 2 report slicers (dropdowns): CountrySlicer and FeatureSlicer and allow user to selecta single value only from each

2. Load 2 datasets using Python scripts: DF1 and DF2

3. Already built a Python function in the following format:

def my_func(CountrySlicerSelectedVal, FeatureSlicerSelectedVal):
# Perform transformations on DF1 based on the value selected in CountrySlicer
# Perform transformations on DF2 based on the value selected in FeatureSlicer
# Return a single transformed data

4. Connect my_func() to the report slicers and store the function output as a separate data-table just like DF1 and DF2

I have successfully completed steps 1-3 but I am stuck at step 4, in no way I am unable to execute this Python function based on the slicer selections; ideally I want the function to run everytime the user updates the slicers and regenerate the output table (perhaps a Run macro will be ideal).

Can anyone help me in solving this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-junyant-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ssmallik ,

Power BI currently doesn't support triggering Python scripts directly from slicer selections in the way macros might work in other software. However, you can achieve a dynamic interaction between slicers and Python scripts through a workaround using Power Query and the M language.
First, you need to capture the slicer selections. This can be done by creating measures using the SELECTEDVALUE function in DAX for each of your slicers. For example:

SelectedCountry = SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[CountrySlicer])
SelectedFeature = SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[FeatureSlicer])