Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to align lines from two different date fields in a line chart

Hello Power BI Community!

I'm pretty new to Power BI and, especially, to DAX.

I have 3 tables plus a calculated table marked as date table, as shown in the picture below:

RelationshipsRelationships

I created a line chart showing the total_sent and total_sold_corrected values from the edition table and the forecast_value from the global_forecast table, as shown below:

Line chart.png

Right not, the axis of the line chart is the Date from the calculated Date table. There is a slicer (Periodicidade) which allows me to select the periodicity of publications, either daily, weekly or monthly. The issue is, when forecasting, the sales of a given monthly (or weekly) publication for a certain month, the prediction_date field from the global_forecast table doesn't always coincide with the distribution_date field from the edition table. The only guarantee is that the month and year (for monthly publications) or week, month and year (for weekly publications) will coincide. In SQL I would use 

yearweek(edition.distribution_date) = yearweek(global.prediction_date)

in a WHERE clause for weekly publications and 

date_format(edtion.distribution_date,'%%Y-%%m') = date_format(global_forecast.prediction_date, '%%Y-%%m')

for monthly publications, and then use just one of the date fields to create a table. 

Is there a way to something similar in DAX? And then have the x-axis (and, consequently, the alignment date format) when I select different periodicities in the slicer. 

The intended final result would be to have something similar to this chart built with R's package dygraph:

Dashboard R.png

Thank you very much and sorry for the long post. If you need sample data, please let me know.