Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

JohnJoe123
Helper II
Helper II

How to Sync X-Axis Scroll Bars across 2 Charts that share the same X-Axis Field?

Hi Everyone,

A Link to my Power BI File can be found here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1LQlIHWVL646E2uULvVH3gu2YH8D__OK9/view?usp=drive_link

I work in a Factory that makes Microchips.

We manufacture these Microchips on one Machine called 'ISP'.

Sometimes, when this Machine is processing the Microchips, it Logs a Fault or 'Error Code'.

I'm currently working a Project that examines Statistics for the ISP Machine for each Calendar Date - i.e. on 1st March 2024, 2nd March 2024 etc.

The 2 Parameters that I am looking at are:

- Running Time of the ISP Machine on each Date (in Minutes)

- How Many Error Codes Occur on Each Date

I have one Query in my Power Desktop File that contains all the Information that I need.

I currently have 2 Graphs on the same Tab in my Power Bi file:

- The First Graph is a 'Stacked Column Chart' - it Shows Date (X-Axis) v Machine Running Time (Y-Axis)

- The Second Graph is a 'Line & Clustered Column Chart' - it Shows Date (X-Axis) v Error Count (Y-Axis)

An Image of the 2 Graphs is shown below:

JohnJoe123_1-1714335241707.png

Both graphs share the same X-Axis field.

Both graphs also default to showing the earliest data on the Left-Hand Side of the Graph.

Because there is over a year's worth of Data now - there is too much for either graph to fit all X-Axis values at once - and so a scroll bar is used to scroll towards the right hand side to obtain data for the latest Calendar Dates.