Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

tarocha
Helper II
Helper II

Help with advanced Power Query

Hello

I'm new to Power BI and have some issues with Power Query.

I have the following scenario I have a table with 3 columns, cod, cr and percentage.

In the percentage column the sum of the cod always has to give 100%.

Example, cod 1.
We have 60% and the other is null, so what I would bring would be 40%, because 100% - 60% - 40%.

Example, cod 3.
We have 60% on the first line, 30% on the second line and on the third line I would like to bring the remaining 10%.

I need this to work on Power Query, I tried some solutions, but I couldn't.

Can you help me?

The result I hope is column D of Excel printing.

414140iAC2DCC0F13C2FD09.png

I share the pbix I'm using in the link below.

a.PNG

Link downalod pbix

Thank you

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
HotChilli
Super User
Super User

It would probably be easier to change the datatype to decimal rather than dealing with percentage type but anyway here's what I did.

Duplicate the table.

'Group By' COD and sum the Percent column. Call the new column Add

You'll get this

Screenshot 2020-12-10 203456.png

You then add a custom column to subtract from 100%.

Use this code, in the formula :

Percentage.From("100%") -[Add]

Change the type to Percent.

You can then Merge this table with the original table (join on COD).

Expand the Table column to return only the Custom column from the 2nd table.

It'll look like this:

Screenshot 2020-12-10 204056.png

and from there you can add a column with logic ''If Percent column is null use Table 2 custom else use Percent column"

Good luck.

View solution in original post

mahoneypat
Employee
Employee