Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Chainfire74
Helper I
Helper I

Grouping data in a column

Hi, I'm fairly new to Power BI. 

I have a colum where the options are White, BME, Not Stated and Blank, within that column I want to combine the Not Stated and Blank data together to create a group called "Unknown".

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MahyarTF
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi,

in Power BI, click on the column (ellipsis icon near to the column (...)), then select New Group,

MahyarTF_0-1658738462329.png

On the shown page, select the value(s) in the left hand and put it in the right section by clicking Group Button or double click on the value :

MahyarTF_1-1658738553753.png

- Double Click on the title in the right hand and rename it as you want

MahyarTF_2-1658738621156.png

Then click Ok, Now you have a group of 'Blank' and 'Not Stated' value with 'Unknown' name and could use this new column (group column) in you visuals

Mahyartf

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
MahyarTF
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi,

in Power BI, click on the column (ellipsis icon near to the column (...)), then select New Group,

MahyarTF_0-1658738462329.png

On the shown page, select the value(s) in the left hand and put it in the right section by clicking Group Button or double click on the value :

MahyarTF_1-1658738553753.png

- Double Click on the title in the right hand and rename it as you want

MahyarTF_2-1658738621156.png

Then click Ok, Now you have a group of 'Blank' and 'Not Stated' value with 'Unknown' name and could use this new column (group column) in you visuals

Mahyartf
lukiz84
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi,

just add a calculated column to your table where you do something like this: