Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

chrila
Frequent Visitor

Grouping based on logical expressions on past events

Hi.

I have a problem that on the surface seems really simple, but I can't wrap my head around how to do this with M (I am completely new to Power BI and Query Languages in general). I have a table of time stamped system events, logged towards a specific System ID for each event. Something like this (a lot more columns, but only these of interest):

Date | System ID | Event Type

From this, I want to create a metric I term "Active Users" which is a count of all unique System IDs that satisfy the following rule: "having at least 1 event registered in the last 7 days and at least 1 event registered more than 14 days ago". Simple enough if it was just a matter of checking for now(), but i want to display it as a time series graph (line) for the 2+ years I have events from, meaning I need the active count grouped for every day that I have events from.

Example:

Screen Shot 2017-10-23 at 8.56.37 AM.png

Note; the event type is simply there because I need to filter out irrelevant ones before I attempt to calculate the "active user"

Regardless how I try to iterate over each row, I don't seem to find a function that allows me to do the necessary logical check before grouping, thereby losing info in the process.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @chrila,

You can create a calculated column below: 

Rankrow = CALCULATE(COUNTROWS('Table1'),FILTER('Table1','Table1'[System ID]=EARLIER(Table1[System ID])&&'Table1'[Date]<EARLIER(Table1[Date])&& DATEDIFF('Table1'[Date],EARLIER(Table1[Date]),DAY)>7))

Then create a measure: 

count = COUNTROWS(FILTER(Table1,'Table1'[Rankrow]<>BLANK()))

q2.PNG

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu 

Community Support Team _ Qiuyun Yu