Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Google Analytics to Big Query to Power Bi Data Transformation

Dear Experts, 

I am relatively new to power bi please guide me if I am using the correct method to load and transform my data, I connected Google Analytics to Big Query and then Big Query to Power Bi (Did this because the GA connecter was not connecting).  The screenshot below shows how the data tables show up.

Noob92_0-1661807565869.png

Every day it gets updated with a new event table, each event table is the data of a new date.

I manually import the new event table to power bi desktop, the next thing I do in Power Query Editor is that I have this one fact table event_20220811 on which I have done all the transformations.

Noob92_1-1661808294548.png

I applied Appended Query step at the start, every time I add a new data table I manually change the formula and enter the name of the new data table, it simply adds the new table and applies the same transformation.  Screenshot Below.

Noob92_2-1661808576889.png

The problem is that every time a new data table is added by this method, when I hit close and apply power bi takes more time to load. I have approx. half a million rows and data is expected to grow up to a billion in the future. Since I am only a beginner I don't know if the approach I am applying to load and transform this data is the right choice. 

So far the data is small and it works out for me but I am worried that as the data will grow this method will fail as load time will be too much. Can someone please guide me on a better approach or solution to this please? Thanks.

2 REPLIES 2
Adel
Helper III
Helper III

hey, i know of a video that can guide through google analytics to bigquery and then power bi.
Hope it helps! 

mahoneypat
Employee
Employee