Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

dosc_21

Generate a table of missig values using DAX

Hi,

I'm new to Power BI and DAX, and I'm trying to generate a table listing missing values between ranges in the same group

GROUPSTARTEND
A25
A79
A1215
B4448
B5157
B6063

My result table should be 

GROUPMISSING VALUES
A6
A10
A11
B49
B50
B58
B59

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
parry2k
Super User
Super User

@dosc_21 check this DAX query to generate the new table, I hope it performs well

Missing Value = 
VAR __groupActualRange = 
    SELECTCOLUMNS ( 
        GENERATE ( 
            'Table', 
            GENERATESERIES ( 
                [START], 
                [END] 
            ) 
        ), 
        "Group", [GROUP], 
        "Values", [Value] 
    )
VAR __groupFullRange = 
    GENERATEALL ( 
        VALUES ( 'Table'[GROUP] ),  
        GENERATESERIES (  
            CALCULATE ( MIN ( 'Table'[START] ) ), 
            CALCULATE ( MAX ( 'Table'[END] ) ), 
        ) 
    )

RETURN 
EXCEPT ( __groupFullRange, __groupActualRange )

and here is the table output:

parry2k_0-1631733257600.png

Follow us on LinkedIn

Check my latest blog post The Power of Using Calculation Groups with Inactive Relationships (Part 1) (perytus.com) I would  Kudos if my solution helped. 👉 If you can spend time posting the question, you can also make efforts to give Kudos to whoever helped to solve your problem. It is a token of appreciation!

Visit us at https://perytus.com, your one-stop-shop for Power BI-related projects/training/consultancy.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo