Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

gijeet

Flexibility

Hello, I just want to say I’m new to BI Desktop and I’m trying to figure this product out. Who is this for? Developers or end users? I need a scenario how this product is used. Let me tell you my current situation. I create reports in Excel for say the accounting dept. In Excel we have VBA, in VBA I can create a user form that will take input values from the user. I use these input values as parameters to call MS Sql Server stored procedures. Once I’m in the SP I have the full power of SQL to create temp tables, CTEs, Multi-level CTEs, unions, get 3 fields from table A, 2 from table B, I can user the input values to filter the data and return a result set into an Excel table on a worksheet. And I can name the worksheet to reflect the values selected like Compare Last Qtr or Compare 2 Months, etc. The user can then repeat with different values. Excel + VBA + SQL is powerful. I’m not sure how BI Desktop can compare to that. I like many of the menu tools in BID but how can the end user play around with different values once the report has been published? Can it go back to SQL server and get new input values or are the static once published? I don’t see the flexibility in BID I would need. If I am wrong, enlighten me please. Thx

1 REPLY 1
TheOckieMofo
Resolver II
Resolver II