Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

arpitprakash
Helper I
Helper I

Filtered tasks based on their predecessor tasks

Example 1
IdTaskPredecessor
ST04270Task 01ST04270
ST04280Task 02ST04270
ST04300Task 03ST04270
ST04310Task 04ST04280
ST04320Task 05ST04310
ST04330Task 06ST04340
ST04340Task 07ST04320
ST04350Task 08ST04340
Ejemplo2
IdTaskPredecessor
ST04270Task 01ST04270
ST04280Task 02ST04270
ST04300Task 03ST04270
ST04310Task 04ST04280
ST04320Task 05ST04310
ST04330Task 06ST04340
ST04340Task 07ST04320
ST04350Task 08ST04340

Hello

I'm relatively new to Power BI and need help from this community to achieve the previous result. I am working with a Construction Program and my ultimate goal is to get a list of all the tasks that have been defined as its predecessors. This is to narrow down what task might be affecting my selected task from completion, upstream. I hope to get a list of all the filtered predecessor tasks, after selecting any task.

In example 1 above, if I select Task 08, you must filter task 07, which is its predecessor, Task 05, which is task 07 predecessor, and so on.

I'll really appreciate any ideas I might have to accomplish this.

Thank you!

8 REPLIES 8
v-lili6-msft
Community Support
Community Support

hi  @arpitprakash 

For your case, you could try this way as below:

Step1:

Use Path Function to create a path level column

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dax/parent-and-child-functions-dax

Path level = PATH('Table'[Id],'Table'[Predecessor])

1.JPG

Step2:

You need a separate dim task table for slicer.

Step3:

Create a measure as below:

For visual filter = var _pathleve=CALCULATE(SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[Path level]),FILTER(ALL('Table'),'Table'[Task] in VALUES('dim Task'[Task]))) return