Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

sbiedrzycki
Frequent Visitor

Dual slicer stacked cumulative sum area plot

I want to preface this by pointing out that I am still a novice with Power BI, so please feel free to suggest any odd area where something could be improved.

I am struggling with understanding how to model a data set to accommodate slicers that has two different columns that need to be filtered for two different cumulative sums for reporting on stacked area plots.  I have production output that can be classed as many different designs where the specific instance of a design could be production, development, or another kind of manufacturing type.  The goal of the report is to be able to view a stacked area plot of all output with slicers included to allow drilling down to specific designs, specific manufacturing types, or a combination such as all A-design production or B-design development where the output is cumulatively summed over date completed to view volume out over time.

Here is a sample dummy data set.  The table is sparse in that records only appear for the dates completed for the specific kinds out.  Here I calculated the cumulative totals as an example.  The first part I'm struggling with is how to best model this to generate a full table of results for each day for proper visualization for all output on all days.

DesignTypeNumber CompletedDate CompletedCumulative Design OutsCumulative Type Outs
AProduction101-Jan-231010
BProduction102-Jan-231020
ADevelopment53-Jan-23258
AProduction103-Jan-232530
BDevelopment33-Jan-23138
BDevelopment154-Jan-232823
BDevelopment55-Jan-233328
AProduction57-Jan-233035