Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jbeckham812
Frequent Visitor

Distinct Count with Date Slicer

Hello All,

Complete newbie with Power BI/DAX here. Looking for a way to find out how many containers we had on the water at a given time headed to a certain location. I have a table called "Containers" that is layed out as follows:

CONTAINER #Origin Departure Actual DateReceivedDestination
YMMU60666565/26/2021 Savannah
YMLU86152215/26/2021 Savannah
TGHU60787396/16/20217/22/2021Perris

The count of containers would need to be based on the # of unique entries in the container # field. The amount of containers "on the water" at a given time would then be the # of unique container #'s with a departure date before the date that is chosen by using the date slicer, with a received date that is after the date chosen by using the date slicer. In the case of ongoing shipments, the received date would be blank, so therefore those would be included in the count only if their departure date was before the date chosen by the date slicer.  We would also want these counts separated based on the destination the shipment is going to.

So, in the example above, if the date slicer was on 6/20, it would show 2 containers on the water to savannah, and 1 to perris.

Please let me know if any more information is needed here, thanks in advance for the help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @jbeckham812 

To remove the filter which made by relation between the Calendar Table and Containrs table, use the ALLEXCEPT code in the measure.

Please try this measure:

The count of containers =
VAR _SelectedDate =
    SELECTEDVALUE ( 'Calendar'[Date], TODAY () ) // this VAR is to find the selected date by Slicer - if nothing selected that will return Today date
RETURN
    VAR _Count =
        CALCULATE (