Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

npowerbi
Helper I
Helper I

Development / Quality / Production - Mangement of PowerBI Development objects

Hi All,

I am new to PowerBI and the background I come from usually has 3 systems in the landscape viz Dev / QA and Prod.

I would like to know how do we manage the same in PowerBI. To me PowerBI service seems like a production server. However I am not sure how do people manage their development objects and send it to quality for tests and move it to production.

This is what I understand so far in Power BI in terms of 2 step development workflow.

1. Develop your Dashboards or Reports in Power BI Desktop (PBIX) file local to you machine.

2. Publish the same to Power BI Service -

Also I do not see any version control option in PBIX files. Is there any specific way in which we manage VC in PowerBI?

Appreciate your help in advance, if someone can explain different types of landscapes possible in PowerBI. TIA.

Nitin

4 REPLIES 4
TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey @npowerbi,

currently there is nothing that really adresses the topics you mentioned, but things will change in the not so distant future:

Please have a look at the ALM toolkit for Power BI  from MAQ Software (alos an avid provider of custom visuals):
https://maqsoftware.com/case-studies/alm-toolkit

During the Business Application Summit this year MSFT mentioned that they will integrate the PBI development with VSTS, but currently there is no timeline.

For larger development projects, we are using different workspaces for the different stages and utilize PowerShell Scripts to move artefacts between these stages

1. Develop Reports using Power BI Desktop -> publish to DEV workspace -> Add Dashboards --> copy to ACC/INT workspace using PS

2. test --> copy  to PRD workspace

Regards,