Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

DateAdd and SamePeriodLastYear Returning Blank Values

Hi,

I'm new to PowerBI and I'm trying to create a measure which calculates the sales for the same time period as last year (and for last week so I'd rather use the dateadd function).

I'm pulling through a lot of data so I'm summarised my table to week starting date and I haven't created the generic date table within PowerBI so I'm not sure if these are causing any problems.

When I do the formulas it's returning blank values (s/s below of dummy data).

I'd upload the pbix file but I'm not sure how. The formulas I'm using are:

Sales LY Test1 = CALCULATE(SUM(Sheet1[Sales]), SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR(Sheet1[Time Period]))

Sales LY Test2 = CALCULATE(SUM(Sheet1[Sales]), DATEADD(Sheet1[Time Period], -364, DAY))

PowerBI Blank.PNG

Any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-zhenbw-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

If you have a date table, your measure is correct, but there is a little detail, maybe you ignore, please refer the following steps,

1. Create a one-to-many relationship between your table and date table.

Date1.jpg

2. Then we create a measure like yours.

Sales LY Test1 = CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Sales]), SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR('Date'[Date]))

3. At last we put the ‘Date’[date] to the visual, the result like this,

date2.jpg

Or if you don’t have a date table, we can create a new measure to meet your requirement.

Sales LY Test 2 = 
var _currentyear = MAX('Table'[Year])
var _lastdate = DATE(_currentyear-1,MONTH(MAX('Table'[Time Period])),DAY(MAX('Table'[Time Period])))
return
CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Sales]),FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Table'),'Table'[Time Period]=_lastdate))

date3.jpg