Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GuyJohnson
Helper I
Helper I

DAX Summarize

Need some help. I'm new to Power BI and DAX and I'm having some trouble.

I have numerous tables in my Power BI desktop. Each of these tables have a column named Sender. Since I can't create a direct relationship between them I wanted to  create a new table that listed each of the senders. That way I can establish a relationship between everything.

What would be the format of the DAX statement to do this??

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

As mentioned before, you have bi-directional filtering between your Date table and your other (fact) tables. This is why you cannot activate the relationship between these tables and your Senders tables.

Furthermore, as I guessed before, your tables all have the same structure and represent segments of your data.

I highly recommend you combine these data from different worksheets and different workbooks into one single table. Make sure you add an additional column for the sender's name.

This link will get you started:

https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/powerbi-desktop-combine-binaries/

This will greatly reduce the number of tables in your model, and its complexity overall.

Let us know, if you need further help with that task.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
paulag
Advocate I
Advocate I

You could do this in the query editor of desktop.

First make a reference copy one of the querys, then append the other tables to this one.  You can then remove all columns except Sender.  The remove duplicates.

This will give you a new table with all of the unique senders

Definitely do this type of transform in Power Query.  Push this as far upstream as possible which will make for a smaller and more efficient Power BI model.