Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

noob123newbie
Frequent Visitor

Custom Column on YYYYMM

Hi team,

I am new to PowerBI and working my way to figuring out the intricate functions in BI. 

I have a SQL database linked to my Dashboard, and i actually need an additional column to be added into my report. 

I would need to create a custom column that is able to identify which Financial Year a particular date is. Im not sure how to kick start this. 

Referencing to Column "ClosedAt" data are stored in the following format YYYYMM and from here I would need to identify in which financial year this falls on and the data should be added to Custom Column "FinancialYear". 

As the Financial year starts from October. E.g. FY22 = Oct 21 to Sep 22, FY23 = Oct22 to Sep 23.

Thanks in advance. 

Screenshot 2023-11-01 at 11.47.00 AM.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-tangjie-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @noob123newbie ,

Open "Advanced Editor" and copy and paste the following code. You can check the steps on the right side.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("Tc65DcAgEAXRXogd7P7lrAXRfxvIssyQPU00cyaZ3EZaz0c36FA/ZQ6vGjDDAitssMPzIB7Eg3gIHsKuGjDDAitssMPzEDzE+7A2", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [ClosedAt = _t]),
    #"Split Column by Position" = Table.SplitColumn(Source, "ClosedAt", Splitter.SplitTextByPositions({0, 4}, false), {"ClosedAt.1", "ClosedAt.2"}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Split Column by Position", "Custom", each Date.FromText([ClosedAt.1]&"/"&[ClosedAt.2]&"/"&"1")),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Added Custom",{{"Custom", type date}}),