Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

mateus_luzzi
Helper I
Helper I

Creating an INDEX Rate

Hello!

I'm new to PBI and having lot of doubts, mostly of DAX...

I need to create an index chart, but I cant manage to create a DAX formula 

Basically I have a fact (item price) that can change by dimensions (store, date)

Let me give you an example:

Product NameStorePriceDate
BananaShop One1011-23-2020
BananaShop Two811-23-2020
AppleShop One511-23-2020
AppleShop Three611-23-2020

So, this is our index basis

I need the minimum price of the items (Banana = 8, Apple = 5) on that day

Then I need to take the average (8+5/2 = 6.5)

Then this average (since is the first) is my index basis (100%)

Then I'll need to get the data for the next day, and so on

Ex next day:

Product NameStorePriceDate
BananaShop One911-24-2020
BananaShop Two1111-24-2020
AppleShop One511-24-2020
AppleShop Three511-24-2020

The minimum price are (Banana = 9, Apple = 5)

The average is (9+5/2=7)

So my index for this day is (today's avg min price) / (yesterday's avg min price)

7/6.5 = 1.076 = +7.6% is the index for day 02

I tried to summarize but I didnt work "the expression refers to multiple columns... cannot be converted to scalar"

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
parry2k
Super User
Super User

@mateus_luzzi I have the solution attached and I believe that is what you are looking for. 

I would  Kudos if my solution helped. 👉 If you can spend time posting the question, you can also make efforts to give Kudos to whoever helped to solve your problem. It is a token of appreciation!

Visit us at https://perytus.com, your one-stop-shop for Power BI-related projects/training/consultancy.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!