Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RushiS
Frequent Visitor

Concatenate a field within IF/SWITCH statement

Hello Everyone, 

I'm new to Power BI. I have created new column in my report using this SWITCH statement to group Instituitions based on below conditions.  What i want is Concat "Control Group1" with INSTITUTIONS[NAME] withing the SWITCH statement.  Tried Using CONCATENATE  and COMBINEVALUE functions as well as below method. All of those gives me " Error Message:
OLE DB or ODBC error: [Expression.Error] We couldn't fold the expression to the data source. Please try a simpler expression.." Error.. Im using Direct Query mode in My Report.

Appreciate If anyone can suggest me a method to concat a string with Table[ColumnName] within a SWITCH Statement

INSTITUTIONS GROUP= SWITCH ( TRUE (),
INSTITUTIONS[ID] = "d3a2efa8" || INSTITUTIONS[ID] = "721be8893","Control Group1" & " - " & INSTITUTIONS[NAME],
INSTITUTIONS[ID]="729dbb5a-"
|| INSTITUTIONS[ID] ="b7ea8f29"
|| INSTITUTIONS[ID] ="6d85fa58"
|| INSTITUTIONS[ID] ="1df7d3ed","Control Group2","Control Group3")

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
parry2k
Super User
Super User

@RushiS well adding the column at the source is your best bet.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo

If my solution proved useful, I'd be delighted to receive Kudos. When you put effort into asking a question, it's equally thoughtful to acknowledge and give Kudos to the individual who helped you solve the problem. It's a small gesture that shows appreciation and encouragement! ❤

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution. Proud to be a Super User! Appreciate your Kudos 🙂