Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Divvie
Frequent Visitor

Combining Charts with 2 table sources

Hi to all 

I am new to Power BI with a lot of excel experience but learning the ropes with Power Bi.  

I have a set of sales data and want to measure the performance of our new product launches against the product category averages.  Not only do I want to see how our new launches do but also compare our active sku's against competitors so that I can adjust forecasts accordingly.  

Now in order to normalize the data for all products I have added a column that specifies the specific month of each sku in their particular product life cycle journey.  As such I can compare apples with apples from month one for both the product category averages and the individual item.  

So I have created 2 tables (no linked relationship) with the exact same information in order to calculate the industry averages on the one side and then pick individual items on the other side and match the sales up to see how it looks.  My goal is to use slicers for the industry averages and toggle between various data points and see which best fits the individual sales of a specific item.  

My problem is twofold.  Firstly, I can't combine them on one chart as any filter applies to all of the data in the visual.  This makes it very difficult to compare as you will see in the screenshot below.  

The top graph shows the product category average for months 1-28 where the green line is the average and the blue is the standard deviation.  The second graph at the bottom is the individual item I want to compare.  Ideally, I want it to look like the third graph below.  

Divvie_0-1682046200974.png

Divvie_1-1682046340592.png