Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dodonald
Helper I
Helper I

Chart with multiple filters, slicers & 2 date columns

Hi all, I am a complete newbe to PowerBI. As in, I started this morning. I managed to get all my data from 8 different tables in and started building visualizations. And now I'm stuck b/c I'm using two columns with dates.

I need to show a chart of the # of tasks assigned to and completed by a certain role over time. I also need to be able to filter by our various businesses & sites. I got stuck on the single relationship from a date table to a date column, so I created a duplicate table and linked to the 2nd date column.

The problem I have is that the SLICER only works for one of the tables (lines on the graph) and not the other. Is there a way to replicate this graph with only 1 table so the slicers works?

Expected result (And current result WITHOUT splicing):

dodonald_0-1654901841116.png

Result with slicing applied (to only 1 table):

dodonald_1-1654901905799.png

I believe I can use the userelationship term somehow (And no duplicate table), but I have no idea how.

File 

Thank you!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jdbuchanan71
Super User
Super User

@dodonald 

We can link the dates table to both the [WI Created/Assigned.1] and the [WI Vote Timestamp.1] columns then we can use USERELATIONSHIP in a CALCULATE to change which date column the Dates table links to.  No need for an extra date table or fact table.

jdbuchanan71_1-1654910384977.png

Count by Created = COUNTROWS('DPY Task Data')

With the CALCULATE we can activate the inactive relationship (the one with the dotted line).

Count by Timestamp = 
CALCULATE(
    COUNTROWS('DPY Task Data'),
    USERELATIONSHIP('DPY Task Data'[WI Vote Timestamp.1],Dates[Date])
)

jdbuchanan71_0-1654910201807.png