Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

rhayami
Frequent Visitor

Calculated Measure to show in Column

I am new to Power BI and apologize in advance.  I've done some research and reached out to the consultant; however, it seems it may not be possible.  I had to create a measure for GROSS PROFIT as below, add to the matrix, and turn on the "Show in Row" option because I could not get it to show in a regular matrix as a row.  Then I had to create the same measures for the prior year and the same for variances.  I also realized I couldn't get the current year, prior year, and variances in the same matrix, so I created 3 matrices and put them side by side.  

Is there a better way to accomplish this so I have the current year, prior year, and the variances for the P&L categories in one matrix?  Thanks for your help. 

GROSS PROFIT = SUMX(FILTER(GLAccountEntry,GLAccountEntry[Account Category]="REVENUE"),GLAccountEntry[ADJ Amount])-SUMX(FILTER(GLAccountEntry,GLAccountEntry[Account Category]="COST OF GOODS"),GLAccountEntry[ADJ Amount])

rhayami_0-1633713768034.png

3 REPLIES 3
parry2k
Super User
Super User

if you have show on rows turned on, it will be on rows, not on columns. Looks like I'm not following your question.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo

If my solution proved useful, I'd be delighted to receive Kudos. When you put effort into asking a question, it's equally thoughtful to acknowledge and give Kudos to the individual who helped you solve the problem. It's a small gesture that shows appreciation and encouragement! ❤

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution. Proud to be a Super User! Appreciate your Kudos 🙂