Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

Scott_Powell
Advocate III
Advocate III

Help with notebooks / multiple .csv files for complete newbie

Hi, I have a need to ingest a ton of Power BI audit logs into Fabric. The eventual target is a Lakehouse table or tables. I have one log file per day (as csv), about 500 altogether. These files need extensive reshaping - things like pivoting attribute:value pairs into columns, parsing the text, etc. There's also reasonably large - about 40 or 50 million total lines, and maybe 4 or 5 million distinct audit log entries (see image below of a single entry)

I was going to do this using a Gen2 dataflow, but I can't figure out how to get a Gen2 dataflow to ingest a folder of files. Works perfectly with our on-prem network file shares, but in Fabric the Gen2 dataflow seems to want only one file at a time, no way to combine things under a Lakehouse Files section.

I'm a complete newbie on notebooks and really barely understand any Python (working to rectify that, going to take some time).

Here's a sample log file entry:

Scott_Powell_0-1694730360054.png

Things I've tried:

1. Using some of the sample code in the "learn fabric" paths to combine the files and publish to a Delta lakehouse table. This doesn't really work - if set VORDER on it screws up the order of lines in the audit log, making it impossible to associate lines with the proper audit log ID. If I turn VORDER off, querying the resulting table returns "Failed to read parquet file because the column segment for column '_c0' is too large"

2. I've tried using code like the following to append the 500 individual csv files into a single file. But it doesn't work - it seems instead to create a folder that has a ton of separate files in it instead of a single large file