Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MattRasmussen
Helper I
Helper I

TOTALMTD date parameter is causing incorrect results

I want to get the MTD and YTD amount of hours worked from our table containing employee hours worked for a given week.  I'm new to Power BI and DAX and can't get the TOTALMTD or TOTALYTD functions to work right to save my life.  The documentation shows the syntax as:

TOTALMTD(<expression>,<dates>[,<filter>])

It explains that the dates parameter is "A column that contains dates." Okay, but that's so vague it's not helpful.  

I have a calendar fact table that is joined to the employee hours worked table.  When I use the calendar date column in our calendar fact table, as most people do in their examples, the function returns nothing (but does not give any errors):

Hours_MTD = TOTALMTD(SUM(Time_Recorded[Total Hours Applied]),DIM_CALENDAR_CURRENT[CALENDAR_DATE])

When I use the week ending date column in the employee hours worked table, the function returns numbers that are impossibly high and verified as incorrect:

Hours_MTD = TOTALMTD(SUM(Time_Recorded[Total Hours Applied]),Time_Recorded[Week Ending Date])

It seems so simple, but why is the function not working right?  I can't find any explanations of what column should be used for the date parameter other than the calendar fact table.

2 REPLIES 2
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@MattRasmussen , The date you are joining with the date of date tbale , is having a timestamp. Means time other than 12 AM.

You need create a date first

Date new = datevalue([Date])

Refer video and blog Why Time Intelligence Fails - Powerbi 5 Savior Steps for TI

:https://youtu.be/OBf0rjpp5Hw
https://amitchandak.medium.com/power-bi-5-key-points-to-make-time-intelligence-successful-bd52912a5b...