Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

LimpingWolf68
Regular Visitor

Help needed with a visual in Power BI - stacked bar and line chart with date in the x-axis

Hello, I'm new in Power BI and have been struggling for weeks now with a visual in which I want to show hours realized and scheduled in specific months. I have a table in which I have this information. So with this information I can build a stacked bar chart with realized and planned hours in the months. I can drill to the days. I have a filter which filters on groups of employees. So if I have the filter on 'all' I see the result of all employees for all months in a year.

I want to add a line to the visual and am using the 'line and stacked column chart'. The line represents the target hours a group of employees needs to realize in a certain month or day. So together with the columns it shows the target (line) and the result (columns) in one chart. The information for the line is in a different table. This table has a date column and a column which refers to the group of employees. I have managed to connect the two tables using a third table for the employees. I also created a date tabble, but as soon as I connect the tables using this date table, I loose my drill functionality (so no view per month anymore) and the totals of the targets seem to add up. Each month shows the total for the whole year.

I'm doing something wrong, but I just don't know what. It's something in the table I use for the line I guess. Anyone got a suggestion?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
123abc
Community Champion
Community Champion

It seems like you're encountering some common challenges with Power BI visuals, particularly when trying to integrate different data sources and maintain drill-down functionality. Let's address these step by step: