Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Get row count (With condition?) from another table

Hi all,

First time posting here, I'm also new to Power BI and DAX.

I would like to get the row count from another table. There are 2 tables, Yield Table and Defect Table

Yield Table (Summarised):

DateModelProcessTotal Qty
20/2/2022ABCA10
21/2/2022ABCB14
21/2/2022DEFA15

Defect Table (Summarised):

DateModelProcessDefect Type
21/2/2022ABCAD1
21/2/2022ABCAD1
22/2/2022DEFAD2

I've made 2 Matrix visuals, Yield Matrix and Defect Matrix:

Yield Matrix (I would like to add the Defect D1, row count of defect type 'D1' from the defect table)

DateModelProcessTotal QtyDefect D1

February

• ABC
  • A
  • ABC
  • A

• B

Defect Matrix 

DateModelProcessDefect D1

February

• ABC
  • A
  • GHI
  • C

• D

I was able to add a new measure to get the Defect D1 (Row count of defect type 'D1') using this formula:

Defect D1= CALCULATE(COUNTX(FILTER(Defects, Defects[Defect Type] = "D1"), Defects[Defect Type]))

I connected the 2 tables using Model (Many to Many), when I try to directly add the measure I added into the Yield Matrix, it will return the row count of defect type 'D1' from the whole table. For example:

DateModelProcessTotal QtyDefect D1

February

• ABC
  • A
  • ABC
  • A

• B

This is wrong because the row count should be based on the date, model and process. I have thought of making a new table to store the row count for every different date, model and process, but I'm not sure on how to do so, if this new table can be made, will it be updated automatically when the defect table is updated? 

Can anyone help me to solve this issue? Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION