Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

PieMashandGravy
Regular Visitor

Filter an unrelated table with one of two values in a slicer, including output where both match?

Hi - newbie here, having some partial success with a DAX issue but need some help getting over the line. 

I've changed and simplified my data to be able to post it here. I have a 'Stores' table, listing different types of stores in two cities (London and Manchester), which needs to be filtered by an unrelated slicer (for conditonal formatting reasons). The unrelated slicer table, 'Cities',  contains the two cities. 

Stores = {("London","Barber"),("London","Newsagent"),("London","Outdoor Store"),("London","Boutique"),("London","Dry Cleaner"),("London","Convenience Store"),("London","Chippy"),("London","Pawnbroker"),("London","Jeweller"),("Manchester","Barber"),("Manchester","Newsagent"),("Manchester","Vape Store"),("Manchester","Dry Cleaner"),("Manchester","Convenience Store"),("Manchester","Upholsterer"),("Manchester","Opticians"),("Manchester","Jeweller"),("Manchester","Chippy"),("Manchester","Kebab Shop")}

PieMashandGravy_0-1689505514944.png

Cities = {("London"),("Manchester")}

PieMashandGravy_1-1689505618376.png

I am trying to make the filter on the table work by putting a 0/1 condition in, off the back of a measure, which my intention is to return a 1 for a match on the city, and to pull back all stores with a 1. This measure then goes into the visual-level filter for the list of stores.

I can make it work with a super-simple measure comparing the MAX(Stores[City]) and the SELECTEDVALUE of the Cities slicer;

StoreList =
    IF (
        MAX(Stores[City]) = SELECTEDVALUE(Cities[City]),
    )