Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Zx2000
Advocate I
Advocate I

Calculate and filter context

Hello,

I guess this is a simple question but I am going nuts why it doesn't work. So as far I studied DAX book and read your articles I know that if we add an filter as a CALCULTE argument adds a filter to the filter context or replaces it (when it filters same column). So why it does not work in this example - I have a date table with some additional columns like ("Month Year") which are used as rows in matrix:
Zrzut ekranu_20230130_131932.png

My measure is:

CALCULATE(
[Sales Amount],
Daty[Date]= DATE(2023,1,27)
)

So outer filter context in this matrix is set for Dates[Month Year] column (in rows). In a measure I use filter for Dates[Date]. So at each row there is a filter Month-Year and Calculate adds Daty[Date]= DATE(2023,1,27). So final filter context uses 2 columns Dates[Date] and Dates[Month Year]. The filter from CALCULTE does not remove any filter here as it uses different column for filtering. So why I am getting same value in every row? As an example the row with filter February 2023 AND DATE(2023,1,27) should be empty but it gives Sales from 27.1.2023. So there should be result only in January.  If a use any other column from Dates table in CALCULTE argument it works like it should. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Zx2000
Advocate I
Advocate I

So I found the solution. The solution is off course crazy becasue there is no clear information about this almost nowhere. Seems that DAX is real hell. So...as far as I understand: 
If someone uses calculate with [date] column and:

-[date] column is a connector to other tables  OR

-if table is "marked as date table" (when a date table is connected with other table but by other column ie. DateKey)