Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

chchen0202
Frequent Visitor

Remove duplicates with direct query in power query

Hi all,

I am a beginner in Power BI.

When I was testing a table with direct query, I encountered an error message when trying to 【Remove duplicates】.

"This step results in a query that is not supported in DirectQuery mode."

chchen0202_0-1713776964756.png

Is it possible to use the 【Remove duplicates】 in this situation(table with direct query mode in Power query)? or it's a limitation?

Also, I understand that I can achieve the same functionality by using the distinct keyword in SQL statement when inputting data. However, is there an alternative way to solve this issue without using SQL in Power query?

Thank you in advance. Best regards.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi, 

Thanks for the solutions @dufoq3  and @mahenkj2  provided, and i want to offer some more information for user to refer to.

hello @chchen0202 , the direct query mode is connect to the data source directly, so if you use the step like remove the duplicate rows, it will change the data structure of the data source directly , it can not support, it is better that if you want to use full operations in power query, it is better that you change your connection mode from direct query to import, the import mode will temporarily store the data in Power BI Desktop, where the data is not associated with the data source, you can use the full Power Query functionality, if you don't want to change the import mode, then you better remove the duplicate values in SQL. and you can remove the following link

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/connect-data/desktop-directquery-about#data-transformatio....

Best Regards!

Yolo Zhu

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.