Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Difference Between Budget and Real - Two Datasets

Good Morning My Friends.

I'm new to PBI and did not find the solution to my problem seaching in the web.

I'll try to explain to you:

What I have are two differents Datasets, the first one contains the BUDGET of the Year and the second one the REAL(How much was spend).

The Budget Dataset Exemple:

AccountMonth$Departament
1Jan100DP1
1Fev200DP1
1Mar100DP1
2Jan300DP1
2Fev250DP1
3Jan320DP2
4Jan180DP2
4Fev200DP2
5Jan170DP2

So there are 5 differents departaments and each departament has a lot of differents accounts to manage. Each account has a budget to spend each month of the year.

The Real Dataset is how much was really Spend in each account, the difference is that the real dataset has a lot of differents payments checked in to the same Account.

Real Dataset Exemple:

DepartamentAccountMonth$Service
DP11120Fix Something
DP11130Buy Something
DP11120Pay Som
DP11110Buy Som
DP12115Fix Som
DP12115...
DP23120...
DP23110...
DP23110...
DP2418...
DP2419...
DP24110...
DP25120...
DP25130...

There is a different "Real" Dataset for each month. So I was able to merge them all up when we charge the dataset from a Folder. No problem there.

I also alredy did a Dynamic Calendar Dataset so I can use Power Pivot to link the tables.

The Problem:

What i need to do now is to do Real[$] - Budget[$] account by account so i know which account spent more than the Budget and which one has money remaining.

So what i thought to do was using DAX Summarize by Account and Month the "Real" Dataset and do a Measure Summarized_Real[$] - Budget[$].