Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

ToddChitt
Super User
Super User

Notebook fails with error 200 when run from Pipeline

I'm fairly new to Spark Notebooks. I have one that dumps a JSON file into a couple of tables in my Lakehouse. It works fine when the Notebook is run on its own. But when I try to run it from the context of a Pipeline, I get this error:

Notebook execution failed at Notebook service with http status code - '200', please check the Run logs on Notebook, additional details - 'Error name - AnalysisException, Error value - org.apache.hadoop.hive.ql.metadata.HiveException: MetaException(message:Spark SQL queries are only possible in the context of a lakehouse. Please attach a lakehouse to proceed.)' 

What is going on? "Please attache a lakehouse to proceed"? What does that mean? In the setup of the Notebook activity in the Pipeline, I select the Workspace and Notebook from validated lists. The Pipeline should *know* that the Notebook is a part of a particular Lakehouse.

Any help would be appreciated. 

Did I answer your question? If so, mark my post as a solution. Also consider helping someone else in the forums!

Proud to be a Super User!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @ToddChitt 

Thanks for the details. Can you please send me the code which you are running in the notebook? I will try to repro this from my side and let you know.

And also can you please try to create a new notebook and then attach the lakehouse. Now try to run this notebook from the pipeline. If the issue still persists please do let me know. This way there wont be a grey out option and you can attach or detach the lakehouse.

vnikhilanmsft_0-1710246947366.png

Did you try to set the target lakehouse as the default lakehouse? Default lakehouse is identified by the pin icon.

vnikhilanmsft_2-1710247776344.png

Thanks.