Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

AlexanderPowBI
Advocate I
Advocate I

General question - Pandas vs Spark in Fabric Notebook

Hi,

I have a general question when using fabric notebooks. Im quite new to this world so I'm trying to learn best practices and so on. 

So far for my data pipelines, I have used spark DF for my transformations & save table, even for small datasets. My understanding is that a spark DF is required to be able to save the DF as a delta table. However, some of my data sets are quite small.

Is there an actual benefit of using pandas over spark, then convert to spark DF before saving as delta table? Would that save resources? My understanding is that it still runs on a spark cluster, right?  

So in general the question is, when to use pandas over spark in Fabric Notebook, if spark has all functinality that I need for the specific job? 

Best regards,

Alexander 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-nikhilan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @AlexanderPowBI 
Thanks for using Fabric Community.

The choice between using Pandas and Spark in a Fabric notebook depends on several factors, including the size of your dataset, the complexity of your data processing, and the resources available in your Spark cluster.

Here are some points to consider:

1. Dataset Size: If your dataset is small enough to fit into memory, then using Pandas could be faster and more efficient because it avoids the overhead of distributing the computation across a Spark cluster. On the other hand, if your dataset is too large to fit into memory, then you’ll need to use Spark.