Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

chris05
Frequent Visitor

Get data using web API to Power BI - Token Prefix Missing

Hi,

I'm new to Power BI and I've been trying to connect data using API with Authentication in Get Data - WEB. I keep on getting "Token Prefix Missing" error.

I've tried all the steps I saw from the googel (use Basic, Advance - with/without Authorization in the header, add api key to username) 

The API URL with the Bearer token works fine in Postman, so I'm really not sure why it is not connecting in Power BI. 

Can someone help me please. 😢

chris05_0-1701198591511.png

5 REPLIES 5
Karltomm
Regular Visitor

Here is an example code I made for one API, the challenge I think is to understand what the API wants in the Headers and Body information. 

This is first step to get the Token, then you will need to use the token in a second call to the API where you GET the data you want. 

let
urlLogin="???",

//Body information with credential in this case
body = "{
""License"": ""??"",
""UserName"": ""??"",
""Password"": ""??"",
}",

//Create a JSON request to past to API
Parsed_JSON = Json.Document(body),
BuildQueryString = Uri.BuildQueryString(Parsed_JSON),

//Send and recive a replay inclusive the Access token.
GetTokenRecord = Json.Document(Web.Contents(urlLogin,[Headers = [#"Content-Type"="application/json",#"Accept"= "application/json"], Content = Text.ToBinary(BuildQueryString)])),

// Pick the token from the record, in this case the record was called Token in the table from the API.
token = GetTokenRecord[Token],

// Create the access token with Bearer in front if needed
access_token = "Bearer "&token,

in
access_token

Karltomm
Regular Visitor

Hi!
Do you know what type of API you try to connect to?