Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

rahmajani
Frequent Visitor

Use second slicer to select data in graph - Not displaying how I want it to

Hi All,

I'm new to the forum and have searched and tried just about everything, and am not having any luck. I am new to Power BI and I have created a chart which has 3 sets of data, and which is working off a slicer. My aim is to have 2 slicers, so select the program name (which is working correctly), select 1 of the 3 types of data sets you would like to see in the chart (which is where I am having an issue).

When I create a second slicer, it is showing me the values of the columns rather than showing the column name where I was hoping you can click on 1 of the 3, and the chart will display that data. I have even tried the New Parameter feature which sits under the 'Modelling' tab and thought I almost had it, but I don't know if I'm missing a simple step? I have attached a screenshot of my report which I've set up in Power BI, but essentially my aim is to have 'Combined Audience, 'Combined Peak Audience' and 'Combined Reach' as options in the second slicer so only 1 of the 3 is displayed in the graph. Having 3 seperate charts is not an option for this report. If you see my screenshot you will see the second slicer just has values?

Power BI Screenshot - Slicer Issue.png

If anyone has any insight into how I can make this possible, I would love to hear from you.

Thank you so much.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Uzi2019
Super User
Super User

Hi @rahmajani 

try wit filed Parameter under Modeling tab. Bt for Metrics(Numeric Fileds) you have to create meaure for that. because field parameter does take direct Numeric column so for that create simple 3 measures:
Combine Audience= Sum(combine audience)
Peak Audience= Sum(Peak Audience)

Combine Reach= Sum(Combine Reach)