Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

BeyzaKzlky
Frequent Visitor

Dataflow Gen2 Incremental Refresh and Data Refresh

Hi all,

I have a problem again with dataflow gen2. 

I'm getting my data from on-prem sql server with dataflow, and because there is no Incremental refresh on gen2, I set standard scheduled refresh daily on dataflow. 

But I realized that this refresh duplicates data on the lakehouse table. 

Is it a bug or is there any option to prevent this I couldn't see?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi!

My name is Jeroen Luitwieler, and I’m a Senior Product Manager on the Dataflow team. While this guide shows how to use an OData source, it’s just an example. You can use this method with your on-premises SQL Server without any issues. If you want to perform a full refresh of your data every time you refresh, you can change the current data destination setting from “append” to “replace”.

Hope this resolves your issue! 😁

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
ebjim
Helper IV
Helper IV

Incremental updates is similar to implementing SCD type 2. This might be useful:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRI4-aCUXHI

v-nikhilan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @BeyzaKzlky 
Thanks for using Fabric Community.
As I understand the above question, you are trying to achieve incremental load using Dataflow Gen2. 
Incrementally amassing data in a data destination requires a technique to load only new or updated data into your data destination. This technique can be done by using a query to filter the data based on the data destination.
Please refer to this link for more information: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/fabric/data-factory/tutorial-setup-incremental-refresh-with-datafl...

Hope this helps. Please let us know if you have any further queries.

Hi @v-nikhilan-msft ,