Forum Discussion

Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Not applicable
6 years ago
Solved

Understanding sync of changes between Service and Desktop

Hi guys,   I couldn't find any information about this in the docs so here it goes:   Are changes made to a report in the PBI Service (Web Version) synced back in any way to the original pbix file...
  • collinq's avatar
    6 years ago

    Hi Anonymous ,

     

    After you publish a report to the Service, anything on the Service does NOT come back automatically to the PBI Desktop file.  

     

    It is possible that if somebody has the right permissions that they download the file to their desktop, make changes and then overwrite your file by publishing it again.  This can happen in a shared workspace, based on permissions.  This is not a common thing but can happen.

     

    As for the new visual - if they have save a copy/version of the dashboard for themselves, then it will stay for sure.  If they have permissions to modify the shared visual, then it should stay as well.  There are now permissions where the other user can use the data to create totally different and new visuals that remain.  Again, this is based on permissions as to WHAT they can do and whether or not they make copies or are using the "original" version.

     

    I would appreciate Kudos if my response was helpful. I would also appreciate it if you would Mark this As a Solution if it solved the problem. Thanks!