Forum Discussion

ccyong's avatar
ccyong
Regular Visitor
9 years ago

Share filtered report view

I published a report (i've Pro license). Users in my organization on Premium node can read it.

 

1. The use case is when they navigate around and filter a couple of things and found some insights, and would like to share that same filtered view to another colleague all within the same organization who has read access. How can a non-Pro license user do that so that the other user can see exactly the filtered view for the same report (other than taking a screencapture which is..quite old school)

 

2. When user login to view the report, will the filters they have put in place be returned to default when they login the next day or will it stay the same as previous?

4 Replies

  • Hi ccyong

     

    Due to the users who are viewing the reports are on Power BI Premium they are effectively then Free Power BI users, and free Power BI Users cannot share reports or dashboards with other users.


    One option would be to do the screenshot as you suggested or for them to then click on File and then Print.

    Another option is for a Power BI Pro user to then open the report and set it with the default filters as they are currently looking for.

    A third option is for the Power BI Free user to send an email and explain which filters need to be configured to see the same results.

     

    As far as I am aware when you upload the Power BI report that is what it defaults to when other users open the reports.

  • ccyong's avatar
    ccyong
    Regular Visitor

    I published a report (i've Pro license). Users in my organization on Premium node can read it.

     

    1. The use case is when they navigate around and filter a couple of things and found some insights, and would like to share that same filtered view to another colleague all within the same organization who has read access. How can a non-Pro license user do that so that the other user can see exactly the filtered view for the same report (other than taking a screencapture which is..quite old school)

     

    2. When user login to view the report, will the filters they have put in place be returned to default when they login the next day or will it stay the same as previous?

    • Anonymous's avatar
      Anonymous
      Not applicable

      I don't think they can.  The ability to share things is a Pro Feature.  The premium service is allow you to pay for the capacity for your non-pro users to consume your reports.

       

      Thinking outside the box a little, could you make use of Row Level Security to achieve a similar goal?