Forum Discussion
Share dashboard with content from direct power bi connection
- 9 years ago
Hi TristanKuesters,
First of all, in this preview release of the Power BI service live connection, there are a few limitations and considerations to keep in mind. :smileyhappy:
- Only users who are part of the same Power BI service workspace can connect to a published dataset using the Power BI service live connection. Users can (and often do) belong to more than one workspace.
- Since this is a live connection, left-navigation and modeling are disabled, similar to the behavior when connected to SQL Server Analysis Services.
- Since this is a live connection, RLS (row- and role-level security), OneDrive for Business, and other such connection behaviors are enforced, just as they are when connected to SQL Server Analysis Services.
- When selecting which dataset to connect to in the Power BI service, the search box only applies to workspaces that have been expanded.
- If you modify the original shared .pbix file, the dataset and report that is shared in the Power BI service is overwritten.
- You cannot replace the originally shared report. Attempts to do so result in a warning that prompts you to rename the file, and publish.
- If you delete the shared dataset in the Power BI service, then other Power BI Desktop (.pbix files) will no longer work properly or display their visuals.
- For Content Packs, you must first create a copy of a content pack before using it as a basis for sharing a .pbix report and dataset to the Power BI service.
- For Content Packs from My Organization, once copied, you cannot replace the report created on the service and/or a report created as part of copying a Content Pack with a live connection. Attempts to do so result in a warning that prompts you to rename the file, and publish. In this situation, you can only replace published live connected reports.
- When you create a report based on dataset using a live connection to the Power BI service, you can only publish that report to the same Power BI service workspace that contains the dataset being used.
- Deleting a shared dataset in the Power BI service means you can no longer access that dataset from Power BI Desktop.
BUT the user has access to the original dataset!
What if you share the dashboard that connects to the original dataset, not with content from direct power bi connection?
Regards
Hi TristanKuesters,
First of all, in this preview release of the Power BI service live connection, there are a few limitations and considerations to keep in mind. :smileyhappy:
- Only users who are part of the same Power BI service workspace can connect to a published dataset using the Power BI service live connection. Users can (and often do) belong to more than one workspace.
- Since this is a live connection, left-navigation and modeling are disabled, similar to the behavior when connected to SQL Server Analysis Services.
- Since this is a live connection, RLS (row- and role-level security), OneDrive for Business, and other such connection behaviors are enforced, just as they are when connected to SQL Server Analysis Services.
- When selecting which dataset to connect to in the Power BI service, the search box only applies to workspaces that have been expanded.
- If you modify the original shared .pbix file, the dataset and report that is shared in the Power BI service is overwritten.
- You cannot replace the originally shared report. Attempts to do so result in a warning that prompts you to rename the file, and publish.
- If you delete the shared dataset in the Power BI service, then other Power BI Desktop (.pbix files) will no longer work properly or display their visuals.
- For Content Packs, you must first create a copy of a content pack before using it as a basis for sharing a .pbix report and dataset to the Power BI service.
- For Content Packs from My Organization, once copied, you cannot replace the report created on the service and/or a report created as part of copying a Content Pack with a live connection. Attempts to do so result in a warning that prompts you to rename the file, and publish. In this situation, you can only replace published live connected reports.
- When you create a report based on dataset using a live connection to the Power BI service, you can only publish that report to the same Power BI service workspace that contains the dataset being used.
- Deleting a shared dataset in the Power BI service means you can no longer access that dataset from Power BI Desktop.
BUT the user has access to the original dataset!
What if you share the dashboard that connects to the original dataset, not with content from direct power bi connection?
Regards
This is the answer:
Only users who are part of the same Power BI service workspace can connect to a published dataset using the Power BI service live connection.
The users are actually NOT part of the same workspace!
The original dataset have not the same report pages as the second (connected) report have. Thats of couse one of the big advantages. Create one (!) datamodule and then create several different (!) reports.
- Anonymous9 years agoNot applicable
TristanKuestersv-ljerr-msft I don't think we've gotten to the bottom of this yet. That requierement is for people who can connect, build and publish back to the workspace. From my understanding, this doesn't apply to sharing those reports via a dashboard, it shouldn't matter.
The scenario as I read it is Dataset A was published with RLS, a dashboard was created from reports connected to Dataset A, and the end user could see the reports via the shared dashboard.
Then Dataset A was connected to via the Desktop, new reports were built and published to the Service. A new dashboard was created and shared with the end user, but the end user gets errors when accessing the report.
So, in one instance the Dataset A is working, and in the other it is not. -> Tristan, is this description of things accurate?
- TristanKuesters9 years ago
Resolver I
Yes, this is exactly the case.
(How can I undo the "accept as solution"?)
- v-ljerr-msft9 years ago
Microsoft Employee
Hi TristanKuesters, Anonymous,
I have reproduced the same issue on my environment. I will confirm if this is a known limitation currently, or it is an issue that should be fixed with the Product Team, and post back if I get any feedback. :smileyhappy:
Regards