Forum Discussion
Report published in workspace
- 9 months ago
Hi stribor45
You could also simply share the reports with the group and they will get access to the report when you are managing permissions. Those permissions just allow them to be able to access the data, but not actually view the reports. That's why you have to share it.
And just to clarify lbendlin In order to use a free license, you have to have an fabric capacity F64 or higher. If you have a smaller fabric capacity, you still need a power BI Pro license.
- 9 months ago
Renaming the report and republishing will not impact the user access. It WILL impact the URLs that you may have communicated. There is no way around that. Implement a robust management of change process and only ever share via the app. (as pointed out by GilbertQ this requires F64 or up)
Hi stribor45
You could also simply share the reports with the group and they will get access to the report when you are managing permissions. Those permissions just allow them to be able to access the data, but not actually view the reports. That's why you have to share it.
And just to clarify lbendlin In order to use a free license, you have to have an fabric capacity F64 or higher. If you have a smaller fabric capacity, you still need a power BI Pro license.
I was reluctant to share and add that security group as i was not sure whether that would trigger the gtoup to send bunch of emails.
i dont want to share via app as i want to learn this process
- GilbertQ9 months agoSuper User
When you add a security group, it will not automatically send a bunch of emails, but only sends an email when you add an individual user.
- stribor459 months agoPost Prodigy
When you go to the report and click share, pop up window is shown where you can enter emails or in my case a group. There is a button that says "send"
- tayloramy9 months agoSuper User
Hi stribor45,
I can confirm what GilbertQ is saying - adding a security group won't email everyone in the security group. You can also create an app and add the group as an auidence, this will not only not send them notifications, but allow you to completely replace the report without changing the URL for the end users.
If you found this helpful, consider giving some Kudos. If I answered your question or solved your problem, mark this post as the solution.
You can also